Cranial Nerves – A Poem

First, comes my nose

Second comes my eyes

All they do is sense along with vestiblo cochlear that bears only 8 notes

3&4 I call you motor because I am driving the truck clear

Roll no 5. Trigemi is a mixed child

Who was abducted at 6’o clock in a car by 7 known faces mixed in the crowd

My 9th grade friend Glossy pharynx mixed with the crowd on 10th at Las Vegas who have 11 accessorized cars but their 12th car is less glossy

One of the most dreaded tasks for anatomy students is learning the names of the 12 cranial nerves. I, like many other students before me, despised memorising them. Instead, I tired looking for mnemonics to remember the cranial nerves. I will list down below a few mnemonics that I particularly useful. However, in my search for good mnemonics, I ended up creating my own. The poem above was my method of recalling the names of the 12 cranial nerves during my student days.

Other Mnemonics for Cranial Nerves:

NERVE:Olfactory nerveOptic nerveOculomotor nervePathic (Trochlear) nerveTrigeminal (dentist) nerveAbducens nerveFacial nerveVestibulo-cochlear (Auditory) nerveGlosso-pharyngeal nerveVagus nerveSpinal Accessory nerveHypoglossal nerve
Mnemonic:
(for nerve)
OLdOPenOCeansTROubleTRIbesmenABoutFishVEnomGivingVAriousACute / SPlittingHeadaches
Extra Mnemonic: (for nerves) OhOhOhToTouchAndFeelVeryGoodVelvetAhHeaven
TYPE:SensorySensoryMotorMotorBoth (sensory + motor)MotorBothSensoryBothBothMotorMotor
Mnemonic:
(for type)
SomeSayMarryMoney,ButMyBrotherSaysBigBusinessMakesMoney

Source: Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_anatomy_mnemonics#Cranial_nerves)

Leave a comment